# How to Delete a Commit in Bitbucket

> To delete a commit in SourceTree, find and select an old commit before the target commit, right-click to choose 'Reset Current Branch to this Commit', specify your preferred Mode, and tap 'OK' to discard the wrong commit.

Canonical: https://livedemo.ai/tutorials/how-to-delete-a-commit-in-bitbucket/
Apps: Bitbucket
Updated: 2026-10-05
Interactive demo: https://story-api.livedemo.ai/workspaces/62255d3d3304f17b8f5e2d03/stories/692a3aeeab56e05a00fe2101/preview?step=1

## Steps

1. On SourceTree's main dashboard, find and select an old commit that goes before the specific commit you wish to delete.
2. Right-click on the selected commit and choose 'Reset Current Branch to this Commit' from the list of options.
3. After that, specify your preferred Mode and tap 'OK' to proceed.
4. After completing these steps, the wrong commit will be deleted and discarded accordingly.
