# How to Do Subscript in Microsoft Excel

> To format subscript in Excel, highlight the text or number, click the small arrow in the bottom-right corner of the Font group on the Home tab, check the Subscript option under the Effects tab in the Format Cells dialog box, and click OK.

Canonical: https://livedemo.ai/tutorials/how-to-do-subscript-in-microsoft-excel/
Apps: Microsoft, Excel
Updated: 2026-10-05
Interactive demo: https://story-api.livedemo.ai/workspaces/62255d3d3304f17b8f5e2d03/stories/692a3bbdab56e05a00fe336f/preview?step=1

## Steps

1. Highlight the text or number you want to format as a subscript.
2. Click the small arrow in the bottom-right corner of the Font group on the Home tab.
3. In the Format Cells dialog box, go to the Effects tab and check the Subscript option, then click OK .
