# How to Remove Duplicates in Microsoft Excel

> To remove duplicates in Microsoft Excel, highlight your data range, apply conditional formatting to highlight duplicate values, navigate to the Data tab, select Remove Duplicates, choose the desired columns, and click OK to complete the process and view the results.

Canonical: https://livedemo.ai/tutorials/how-to-remove-duplicates-in-microsoft-excel/
Apps: Microsoft, Excel
Updated: 2026-10-05
Interactive demo: https://story-api.livedemo.ai/workspaces/62255d3d3304f17b8f5e2d03/stories/692a4bfdab56e05a00ff7724/preview?step=1

## Steps

1. Highlight the range of data you want to check for duplicates.
2. Go to the Home tab, click Conditional Formatting.
3. Choose Highlight Cells Rules and select Duplicate Values .
4. Leave the default settings and click OK to highlight the duplicate values in your data.
5. With your data still selected, go to the Data tab, then click Remove Duplicates ..
6. In the dialog box, select the columns you want to check for duplicates, then click OK .
7. Excel will remove the duplicates based on your settings and show how many were removed.
